Make Way For Pele

The lava flow’s continue on the Big Island of Hawaii. Titling my blog site “The Volca.noe,” I knew when the eruptions started I would want to speak of them, but didn’t jump on it. I let what dwelled inside me simmer, and reflected on my journey. Only when I acknowledged my own passion, jealousy, anger and violence could I see and understand Pele for all that She is.

Hot tears fill my eyes when I watch videos of people’s homes being destroyed by Pele. Sympathizing with their loss, it’s hard to keep in mind the rebirth that comes from destruction. When destruction is at hand it’s challenging to see the big picture. When we see red, all other colors temporarily fade away. Volcanic soil may be one of the most fertile in the world, but we don’t care about that when we watch what we love burn.

What is one to do when things around you are going up in flames? Whether physical, mental or emotional? Make way. Surrender to the flow, even if it’s a fiery one. Trust that beautiful things can and will come from this. Keep an eye out, for they will pop up everywhere. Communities come together, new opportunities and paths unfold, souls are refined. Allow yourself to feel all emotions, and teach yourself to see the life and beauty in them. Don’t suppress anything, unless you want to create an explosion that will be much more difficult to navigate yourself through. Rather let the slow flow, go. And let it’s red and orange glow light your way.

Leave a comment